What's new

Labor Day contest!

We will have random.org select THREE WINNERS from all entries. To enter the contest just answer this question:

Tell about an interesting job (this is for "Labor Day" after all) that you had; or a difficult job; or a job you learned the most from; or whatever.

What do you win? Well, the three winners will each get to choose either one of our very popular Razor Caddys or a bottle of our newest aftershave, Land Ho! How about that? You win and then even get to pick your prize!

Will let this run a bit and then the winners will be selected. These entries should make for an interesting read...

IMG_3111.jpg
IMG_3592.jpg

I don't know if it is very interesting, but one job I had that stands out to me was the time I worked as a shoe shiner. I worked at an old shoe repair store that had been family owned for over a century. I learned how to polish leather well, really well. I also learned that I did not enjoy shining shoes for hire, and quit after a few short shifts.

Well, I was going to buy some Land Ho! anyway, but:
I worked a summer at plastic cup manufacturer (think beer pong). I was 18 at the time and young and dumb. The place, in retrospect, was a deathtrap, but I learned a lot. I was allowed to weld, run electrical cable, help install a commercial chiller, roofing, paving, running a fork truck and risking my life on regular basis without any real training. Hanging unsecured from the rafters 40 feet above the factory floor, or shoveling ground plastic in a 110 degree pit, or pulling sheets of plastic from a running hydraulic press, I'm surprised no one was killed that summer. I'm glad I did it when I did it, not knowing any better. I learned a lot of life skills to help around the house, plus learned I should NEVER do most of those things again.