What's new

What Did You Learn From Your SR Shave Today?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I know we have a similar thread in the general shaving section but I felt there was a need for one particularly using SR's (that includes shavette style razors).

SR shavers normally have a longer learning curve. I know I do. Even after over 150 SR shaves, I'm still learning with every shave.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
A second progression through diamond pasted balsa strops can further improve a Method edge blade.

But surely there must be a sharpness/keenness level where further improvements are not noticable during the shave "test"?

Im sure it exists. I just haven’t been there yet. Very short chin hair seems to be impossible no mater how taught the skin, no matter how light the touch, no matter the angle. Yet, a DE levels it effortlessly.

I’m starting to do 100-200 finishing laps each week to see whether it’s a sharpness issue or me.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

this is a YMMV.......

extra time spent during bevel setting on my new razor was time well spent. zero pressure weight of the blade only by the end.

either it's just another anomaly of the steel, maker, period, etc......or this extra time produced a smoother feeling blade to me. it will be difficult to determine which variable is responsible.

either way......noticeably smooth blade.

camo

Great idea for a thread,

Today I have a feeling I can honestly say I’ve learned more from my straight Razor shave than anyone else in here.

Today was my first shave with a straight razor. I bought the thing in Feb from the bay, sent it for honing and just got it back this morning.