What's new

Jack Purcells by Converse. What a shame/Classic Sneakers

JWCowboy

Probably not Al Bundy
... and let’s not ever forget these icons of retro sneeks. The often imitated but never duplicated, Stan Smith tenny. :thumbup:
View attachment 1087681

We are of a like mind my friend. While perusing through this thread I was planning on posting something about my favorite retro sneaker being the Adidas Stan Smith, and here I make it to the last post and BOOM, you've beat me to it.

Someone mentioned this earlier in the thread, but Nike purchased Converse several years ago and moved production overseas, mainly to China, thus the drop in quality of some of the icons like the Chuck Taylor's & Jack Purcell's.

I'm a semi-sneaker head. All through my four years of college (over 20 years ago now, how time flies) I worked as a sales clerk in a local athletic apparel and shoe store in Middle Tennessee which specialized in Nike, but sold all the major brands. I was a shoe fiend.

I'm still somewhat into that world, but not near as some folks. I'm a grown up 40 something now working in business casual everyday attire these days, so 90% of the time I wear made in England Dr. Marten's or Solovairs with Khakis.

On the weekend I like to break out the Stan Smith's (2 pairs to choose from) the Chuck Taylor's (either high top or low top - both made in the USA vintage!) or The Air Jordans (2 pair of I's, 1 pair of III's)

johnniegold

"Got Shoes?"
Btw, I saw a picture of the Superstars with the “yellowed” outsole which looked exactly the way mine did before applying the Angelus Sole Bright and wanted to show you the difference.
D73D9AAC-EB6F-4CF9-807D-D0BA664EC8BE.jpeg

948E48E5-5471-43A2-84AE-F75E31702C31.jpeg

14254494-8126-49A6-A90D-151210F8F604.jpeg

So if you have the “yellowed” outsole on your sneakers, this stuff works pretty well. Of course, the outsoles will yellow again. This was the second time I applied the sole brightener. The last time was probably two years ago.