What's new

Damn Comfortable Shave

Esox

I didnt know
Staff member

Just follow the line around the hat lol.

Screenshot_2020-05-03 24 Times People Tried To Do Their Own Hair During The Quarantine But It ...png

Ah, cold water shaving. I'm a newbie I experimented with it. They say Ben Franklin claimed it the best way to shave. I'm with you, I'm not a closeness nut, just want comfortable without blood on the floor until I figure out what I'm doing :em2700:. I really like right after shaving using Thayer's alcohol free witch hazel. It's cucumber scented which sure beats wet dog. When that dries, I splash on some Speick after shave. Using a Supply 2.0, which is a heluva bad razor to start with but I've taken on the challenge. No matter what I don't push my luck past two passes.

Rosseforp

I think this fits, Gents
From what I've read, opening the spring doesn't cause the problem. Closing the spring (once it's been incorrectly opened) damages the razor and causes the problem. Unless you opened it and then closed it somebody else damaged it (I think).
After perusing fleabay, and reading some nice write-ups about the differences between the springs used, I came across one of the first pictures I took of my Schick Type E, and noticed the spring was bent when I received it. I just didn't know what I was looking at, and thought there was a good chance that I bent the spring myself. So I fixed it myself, with some cussing and needle-nose-pliers.
BentSpring.jpg

Bent Spring.
20200501_151319.jpg

Straightened Spring.

In the meantime, I have located another Type E, that has the open to clean option.:biggrin: I don't know if it will shave any different, but now I will have something to compare it with.:pipe:

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
Doug @Rosseforp, the E-2 open to clean will definitely shave better.