What's new

I’m sold. I want a Bialetti

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
Don’t worry, I don’t get them either. I think that a one cup is for a small espresso style cup. That is the first one that I got. I like a mug of coffee and using the one cup Moka Pot less than 1/3 filled a normal coffee mug.

"Cups" are expressed in demitasse size (4 oz), not 7-11 64oz size.

So for an "American", a 3 cup moka pot will make a cup of coffee. A 6 cup will make 2 American size cups.

bialetti_moka_express_zpsb7eedd64_edited.jpeg

Last edited:
I guess I'm too late, but I want to suggest getting the Bialetti "Venus" model. Some people think that stainless steel makes a difference in the taste of the coffee.

I just ordered a 9-cup one yesterday. I imagine we both saw the same story that their business is in financial trouble. I've never tried the Bialetti before but I'm looking forward to it. Do you use an espresso grind in it?

Oh the arguments I heard from my Italian neighbors, when I was stationed in Aviano, about how to place the coffee in the Bialetti before screwing it together. One swore on his Mother’s grave that one big cone in the center was ideal, another swore on another grave that three smaller cones placed equidistant from the center was the “only” way to get the perfect blend.

I miss those days sometimes. Pop into the bar for a quick cappuccino for 1000 Lire. About a dollar back then. Came with the packet of real sugar and the Biscottis.

I guess I'm too late, but I want to suggest getting the Bialetti "Venus" model. Some people think that stainless steel makes a difference in the taste of the coffee.

Thanks but I am one of the few people out there who can taste stainless steel. Hot liquids make it worse. Can’t do stainless.

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
Except I’m not understanding the sizes.

It will just be me using it. I like cappuccinos. Would a 3 cup be too big or ok?