What's new

When to sanitize your razor.

After each shave I wash my razor with a mild soap and a soft toothbrush, dry it and store it. I am the only user of my razors. Any reason to periodically or occasionally sanitize the razors with barbicide?

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
If you are sure you are the only one using it, just rinse and repeat.

If your partner has Hep C, I'd autoclave it, lol.

But then, I'm a used up nurse. I've survived needle pokes, being spit upon, and let your imagination run wild upon, and I'm still here.

Ron R

I survived a lathey foreman
When I receive used razors I go through a cleaning procedure of using hot hot water to almost the point of boiling for 5-10 minutes in a soapy bath and scrub until its clean. Avoid boiling plastics IMO, then I use a metal cleaner to polish and clean. Gold finishes will not hold up to certain metal cleaners very well. Then for the last step I will dunk the head only in some Isopropyl Alcohol & it's good to go after that.
Once a year I might dunk the razor heads in Isopropyl Alcohol but I do not like to get it on plastics because it could damage them possibly depending on the plastic material IMO. (I'm not very scientific about germs) I think I'm a bit of a germ phob so it makes me feel good to have a clean razor.
Most of the time after use of my razors I rinse then blow dry my razors with a very heavy blows of breath or two and wipe them off with a towel or Q-tip and into the wooden razor rack .
It seems to work for the last three years and I like the looks of my razors when they are clean looking.
Cleaning is a personal choice and there are so many ways of razor cleaning care, certain metals like silver drives germs bonkers and they do not like clinging to it.
93% Isopropyl alcohol dries germs outer shell of their being and they die quickly from what I have read.
Have some great shaves!