What's new

Fougere Scents

Rosseforp

I think this fits, Gents
I'm fairly new to wet shaving, and love trying out new soaps. TOBS Sandalwood was the first soap that I purchased when I started wet shaving, and it has remained largely untouched, being replace almost immediately with TOBS Lime. That being said, I tend to lean toward citrus scents like Mike's Lime and Bergamot Orange, and I enjoy the scent as it opens up while lathering What the Puck Orange Sunrise.

Arko is a great soap and my wife loves the scent, and I recently picked up some Proraso Green that she also likes. I might add the wife also loves the scent of mothballs.
Of course I also have a dozen pucks of Williams Mug Soap, and a tube of Cremo.

Moving on I have a puck of T.F.S. Ginestro di Taormina that has a wonderfully pleasing aroma and is also a very nice soap.

For all the hype I have heard about Mitchell's Wool Fat, I have found that half a bar of Shea Butter Dove handsoap mixed with Williams gives me the same results at 1/10th of the price.

That is not to say I will turn up my nose on a Top-Tier soap if the performance and scent is there. My brother sent me a jar of Acqua Di Parma from Italy that is not only intoxicating, but an extremely good soap. Which has led me to ordering a puck of MDC Agrumes. $$$

On the less expensive side I also have some Razorock Black Label on the way, and my nose is wondering if there is another Fougere that might come out of the woods to wake it up.

Any suggestions?

Not sure if LA Shaving Company if still in business, but if it is, check out Topanga Fougere, a somewhat rustic made-from-scratch Fougere that is quite nice.

There is also a description on the website about how the scent was made that is really interesting.

Tabac is actually a fougere.

Also, Van Der Hagen Glycerin or Deluxe might be worth looking into. It has violets instead of carnations but it's otherwise a fougere scent. And a very good one, too.

Last edited: