What's new

Maggard vs WCS

I really like the look of a particular handle, and realized that both Maggard and WCS carry it, albeit under different names: Maggard MR5 and WCS 84S. Right now West Coast Shaving has the 84S on sale, so all things equal I'm leaning towards that. But I am wondering ... are these the same, or is one shop copying from the other?

Anyone have both and can comment? Or another example of comparable handles from Maggard and WCS? What is the difference in quality between the two companies' house brands?

Both places are probably getting the handle from the same place in China. Go with the cheaper one. It's just a handle, after all.

I like Maggard...even though they are in Michigan and I have a degree from Ohio State.

I guess it is just a Big Ten thing.

garyg

B&B membership has its percs
I like Maggard, West Coast Shaving has changed hands since the old days don't think John is around anymore, but haven't heard a bad word about them. And I'm a Buckeye by birth, but a Michigander now. My guess is they are the same thing. I've one Maggard's handle & it is stellar, and I know they will correct any problems on delivery. Oh, and they ship uber-fast

I like Maggard, West Coast Shaving has changed hands since the old days don't think John is around anymore, but haven't heard a bad word about them. And I'm a Buckeye by birth, but a Michigander now. My guess is they are the same thing. I've one Maggard's handle & it is stellar, and I know they will correct any problems on delivery. Oh, and they ship uber-fast

Yes. When I ordered something from them a few months ago, I must've "double-clicked" on something. I got a phone call, not a text or email, but a call, asking, "You sure you want two of these?" It was a nice touch. WCS may be just as good. I just have no experience.