What's new

Old hotels

simon1

Self Ignored by Vista
Anyone ever stay in the old style hotels? Those that are not around anymore. Had the bathroom and bathtub at the end of the hall for community use. Water tank for the toilet was on the wall with a pull chain to flush.

Going rate was $10 a week. I stayed in several a many years ago. One was the Rieger in Kansas City. Years before that Al Capone stayed there when he was in K.C. It was run down when I lived there for awhile but it's been renovated. When I lived there it had a bed, dresser, steam radiator for heat, and a shower in the room. This is a newer pic., there used to be a little bar where the parking lot is called The Spur I think. Loud.

proxy.php

Nothing quite so . . . folksy.
I used to work as a houseman at the Hotel Nova Scotian, one of the grand(ish) old Canadian National Railway hotels.
Opened in 1930. Lots of brass hardware on the stairs and elevators.
proxy.php

With the keys we had, we could get onto that ledge above the top row of windows. Great place to bring your lunch.

I did more recently get to stay a couple of days at the Queen Elizabeth, another CN hotel in Montreal. We went there by train and the coolest part was that the train terminal was in the ground floor the building attached to the hotel. Pick up your luggage and walk them over to the front desk to check in. None of this waiting for a shuttle bus from the airport out in the boonies.
proxy.php

This was the hotel where John and Yoko recorded "Give Peace a Chance", in Room 1742. There's a plaque on the door commemorating it.
Also a nice huge cathedral across the street.

The General Oglethorpe Hotel, on Wilmington Island near Savannah, but don't think it was called that when I stayed there. Built in the late 1920s, it was associated with Al Capone. When I went, it was updated, but still had period fixtures. Even an original billiards table (too upscale to be call it pool).