What's new

Total Newb....pondering the switch from electric to DE

Why?

I wouldn't even know what I am looking for and couldn't tell if it was a deal or not either. I guess Canadian's need to look in the thrift stores as no deals are to be had for us otherwise....:surrender:

I'll suggest something a little different: a Wilkinson Sword Classic, the black plastic one. I'm not sure about Canadian availability, but they are cheap and darn near indestructible. They are also mild and mighty fine shavers, particularly with a good blade like a Gillette Silver Blue. If you find that DE isn't your thing, you're not out very much money; if you do like it, then you can upgrade or stay with it for a long time.

Well..now there is something i saw but dismissed cuz...I thought it was cheesy.. its polymer not metal, but it actually has pretty good reviews. I can get it for $12 CAD pretty low risk.

- Wilkinson Sword Classic
- Proraso soap the red version.
- Omega 10065 boar brush

Gillette Silver Blue or Astra blades...pretty much the same?

Last edited:
Well..now there is something i saw but dismissed cuz...I thought it was cheesy.. its polymer not metal, but it actually has pretty good reviews. I can get it for $12 CAD pretty low risk.

- Omega 10065 boar brush

Blades are a rabbit hole. Get a few different ones and see what works for you. I like Silver Blue and don't like Astra myself - but I tend not to like a lot of blades that the majority like.

I’m not a massive fan of astras myself (typically use gsb’s here as well), but the wife loves them.

Blades really are a personal thing, what works for one person’s face may not work for another, which is why so many recommend samplers; it gives you the ability to try a few different types of blades to see what you like.