What's new

Factory sharpness when NIB

I have a new DOVO Master's 6/8. I did a hair test on my arm and I don't think this Razor is finished even at the 8000 grit point. I'm going to give it 20 laps on my 12000 stone and a strop and see how it shaves. Surely a factory like DOVO can sharpen a razor to the 8000 point before shipping it out the door. A Shapton 12000 is my only stone. I'll take a close look at the blade using a 12x loupe before and after the 20 laps. This better work. If not I may need to go shopping for an 8000 stone.

If it a factory edge, it may not have been honed properly. It would be nice if you could be more confident in factory edges from makers like DOVO.

If it a factory edge, it may not have been honed properly. It would be nice if you could be more confident in factory edges from makers like DOVO.
You would think a company that can make such a precise device would be able to finish it properly for the end user to at least be able to use it as it was intended. It's like Gibson guitar not taking the final step to tune each string before shipping a $6K instrument. It seems to be the least they can do for the customer.

You would think a company that can make such a precise device would be able to finish it properly for the end user to at least be able to use it as it was intended. It's like Gibson guitar not taking the final step to tune each string before shipping a $6K instrument. It seems to be the least they can do for the customer.
Seems like there are way too many "you would think" situations in this world.
You would think all parents would behave themselves at their children's little league games! :a13:

I've also heard of Dovo razors leaving the factory with slight frowns which I thought was unfortunate. Hope you got it straightened out and it doesn't need any/much more work.

New guitar strings aren't going to stay in tune long anyway. ;)
You would think the necks on USA made Gibsons would be less prone to breaking than Epiphones!:a5: