What's new

Shampoo bar suggestions

@MaxG while I cannot answer your specific question, I have started using an apple cider vinegar rinse every other day as it resets the ph of your scalp, which I believe cures dandruff.

I used to get dandruff unless I used head and shoulders and ever since I switched to good quality natural shampoos and incorporated the rinse I haven’t had any issues and much better feeling/looking hair.

I’m no scientist, it’s just what I’ve read both here and abroad.

I've been a Head & Shoulders guy for the better part of my life, (58), because I had a problem with dandruff and recently in the past few months have been using a shampoo bar from Stirling and have yet to have a bout with dandruff. As to any kind of special rinse there's nothing I do any different than when I used H&S... Straight shampoo and water rinse has worked great.

I just found this thread. I too have been a H&S user for as many years as I can remember. I recently, about a month ago, was able to get my hands on some Mike's shampoo bars. They are great! The H&S may never find it's way into my shower again. I had not thought about other makers for them but will be placing an order for some Chagrin Valley to try. I can't recommend Mike's highly enough if you can get them when in stock.

If you have dandruff, I highly recommend that you try Listerine brand mouthwash. Apply the liquid to your hair/scalp and let it soak for a few minutes before you shower/shampoo as normal. It can be messy to apply but I found that it works much better than any of the widely available dandruff shampoos. Long ago it was marketed for this purpose and some speculate that the eucalyptus oil is a key reason. You may need to use it for a few weeks to "eliminate" your dandruff and then maybe once every month or two to keep it away. Also frequent cleaning of combs, pillow cases, etc, to help eliminate all the yeast/organisms that are lurking in your environment and feeding on your scalp can help.