What's new

Non-turned handles

I've been feeling the itch to make some custom handles for myself. You know, you can just go out and buy whatever shaving brush you like and save money in the process but I believe the inner satisfaction given by using something you have built yourself has no price.

I can't get access to a lathe, I can't buy one nor all the additional stuff you need for serious wood or resin turning. I don't even have the space to place all the tools. That's why I abandoned the idea very soon.

Then I see the ceramic Pantarei brushes. And again even Simpson sells some Oakwood hand carved brushes at an insane price.

End of the story I'm starting to wonder: maybe I can carve something out of a chunk of wood that resembles a shaving handle!

I have some artistic background but no clues altogether when it comes about wood carving and the essential tools needed. I'm thinking about inlays, patterns, whatever to make a handle, if not good looking, interesting at least.

I understand I need a drill and some Forstner bits for the hole.

Now the actual tools:
A little handsaw to roughly shape the wood? What size/type?

Would a set like this be overkill (12 SK7 carbon steel chisel set - $80)?
proxy.php

And what if I'm overthinking? What if instead of a bunch of chisels all I need for such a small project is a nice woodcarving knife and a lot of patience?
proxy.php

What type of wood would be a nice option for a beginner and still look beautiful (color, grain, etc.)? Any tool I haven't thought about?
The coating would be a totally new matter but I assume I can get plenty of information reading the many threads on wooden turned handles.
As the forum is packed full of experts I'm begging for any advice you may give.

Many thanks!

You can get a decent carving set fairly cheaply. I also recommend a protective glove for holding the piece while you work on it.
proxy.php

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk