What's new

Straight Razor Acquisition Thread

I am trying to decide which ones I should keep and try using. I have ZERO experience with straight razors and not real sure where to start. There is 1 that I can fin no information on at all...the bottom right. It is a Russell Barber Supply Co. Made in New Orleans.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

So I purchased a few straights today...now what do i do with them?
proxy.php

Nice score! They all look pretty good but if I had to choose one, I'd have to agree with Arne. I like the old ones.

The one that Arne picked out is a really nice find.

The two top ones on the left and the top one on the right will be good starters. The second one from the top on the left would be my "first shaves" choice. I also like the lines of the last razor on the left.

The second one from the top has a round toe. This means you will be less likely to dig in with the tip. This one has a 5/8s blade. 5/8s is a great size to begin with. It also looks like it will need little aside from honing to get it ready for use.

The one that Arne picked out is a really nice find.

The two top ones on the left and the top one on the right will be good starters. The second one from the top on the left would be my "first shaves" choice. I also like the lines of the last razor on the left.

The second one from the top has a round toe. This means you will be less likely to dig in with the tip. This one has a 5/8s blade. 5/8s is a great size to begin with. It also looks like it will need little aside from honing to get it ready for use.
Thanks for the advice. I am not afraid of honing...as I have done many knives for chef school, but I would imagine that straights need much finer work for finishing and I have never used nor do I have a strop.