What's new

X2 Mistake = M+C

Graydog

Biblical Innards
I had 2 handles that I had been working on that I messed up trying
to be thrifty I am decided not to waste the wood .
I Love these two woods together ,Maple and Cocobolo.
Thus the name x2=M+C :0.
I just started playing with it last night and finished the shape this morning after a wonderful shave I might ad :) So far 3 coats of CA. It is probably going to live it's life as a Boar .
x2mistake9.jpg
x2mistake10.jpg
x2mistake2.jpg
x2mistake3.jpg
x2mistake6.jpg

It is beautiful. The two woods do look amazing together. Great shape and as always amazing looking handle. It will be a great brush I'm sure. Post pics once it is complete.

Wow. That looks great. The cocobolo is has much more of the lighter tone than what I usually see in cocobolo. It is one of my favorite woods to work with. And always a top pick when I'm making a pen and someone just says they want a darker wood.

Very nice sir. The maple looks like it came from the same tree as my humidor. Maple has always been my favorite wood. Besides, we get liquid gold from the right maple trees! What's not to love?

Rudy Vey

Shaving baby skin and turkey necks
Cocobolo was one of my favorite woods, until I was somehow sensitized and got extreme reactions on my skin.
It started some 15+ years ago when I was turning a pen from it - had many pens made before from it. I started the same evening with some allergic reactions in my elbows. Didn't think much about it. A few weeks later I turned another pen and the reaction was stronger...eventually I figured out that the wood i loved so much gave me a problem.