What's new

Best fragrance for a manly man?

I'm 44 years old. I'm a family man. I'm a Lawyer but I'm mostly an outdoor type...hunting, fishing, farming, wood chopping kind of a guy. I'm very traditional.
I want a fragrance that is endearing, not sexy. Manly, not teenager. I may even prefer old man smell at the risk of ever smelling like a teenager or pimp.
I love my Speick Aftershave but it doesn't last. Same with Pinaud Clubman. I'm thinking of getting the EDT in Speick. I just finished my Victorinox cologne but it was too fleeting. What do you recommend? Also, where is the best place to 1) Get good deals - such as when I bought a new tester of my Victorinox off Ebay. Not all scents are sold that way. 2) Where is a good place to buy sample sizes? If you can't tell, I'm into spending like $50 or less per bottle if possible.

I began to go through some of the same starting a few years ago. Last year was the year I figured things out. The big thing to wrap your head around is that department store fragrances are almost all unisex these days. Not all, but most...even the ones branded for men. I solved that particular issue by beginning to look for designer fragrances that were designed for men in 1980 or before AND niche fragrances. Preferably much earlier. Here are my favorites that I have added to my wardrobe over the years that are 100% for manly men:

Designers:

- Guerlain Vetiver (fresh Vetiver designed in 1961..worn by JFK)
- Givenchy Les Parfums Mythiques Monsieur de Givenchy (Lemon, lemon verbena...designed in 1959)
- Givenchy Les Parfums Mythiques Xeryus (clary sage, oakmoss and patchouli...designed in 1986)
- Lalique Encre Noire (dark smoky vetiver and cedar)

Niche:

- Floris Santal (sandalwood, lavendar, vanilla)
- Floris No 89 (citrus, neroli, rose..launched in 1951)
- Floris Special 127 (bergamot, white flowers, lang ylang...launched in 1890)
- Penhaligon's Blenheim Bouquet (lime and pine...launched in 1902)