What's new

New to fountain pens

Good day. I am new to fountain pens. But think I maybe interested in acquiring a few. Can any one offer any pointers on what to look for or where to start? Looking at Amazon I see the gamut from $9 to $400. Names I'm Looking at are Waterman, Parker, Schaefer, Dryden, Picasso, Moonman, Pilot , Duke and. Monaggio. Thank for any tips or advice offered.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

jar_

Too Fugly For Free.
Most of those are made in China. Today even modern Sheaffer fountain pens are likely made in China. The Waterman/Parker pens are most likely made in France and the Pilots in Japan.

You don't mention where you are located but it's likely there is either a fountain pen club or show somewhere nearby and that is the best starting point. Fondle as many pens as you can before buying. Mention that you are interested in fountain pens to all the OLD FARTS you meet and I bet they have a few they will offer you.

Of the ones you mention and considering today's market I'd suggest starting with the fountain pens from Japan or France. Of the Japanese pens I have more from Platinum and Sailor than from Pilot but a basic pen from anyone of those three would be a great introduction. If you go Waterman/Parker I have found the modern Waterman line more reliable out of the box than the modern Parkers.

tankerjohn

A little poofier than I prefer
Welcome to the sickness! I was in your shoes a few months ago. Honestly, the one thing that I wish I knew before ordering my first pen is that Japanese nibs are a size smaller than German nibs, i.e. Japanese fine = German extra fine (most non-Japanese pens use German nibs even if the pen bodies are made somewhere else, i.e. TWISBIs are made in Taiwan but use German Jowo nibs). So there you go - you are forewarned.