What's new

Removing a Chip

I'm a newbie to SR shaving and newbie to restorations. I'm committed to learning everything I can about caring for and maintaining razors.

I purchased a Dremel yesterday and was giving the polishing felts and Dico polishing compounds a test run today on an inexpensive razor. I managed to touch the mandrel to the razor edge and I chipped the edge. This is a practice razor, so I figured I would see if I can correct the issue.

20190314_214505 (2).jpg

20190314_214611.jpg

Any suggestions on how to work this situation? Please point me to tutorials, if you can?

Cheers!

my thoughts right now, you can either hone it out across the whole edge or portion, or create one if those japanese blade profiles that cuts across the heel. maybe hone a slight smile into that blade

my thoughts right now, you can either hone it out across the whole edge or portion, or create one if those japanese blade profiles that cuts across the heel. maybe hone a slight smile into that blade
This is how I see it too... I'd probably lean towards the "Japanese" blade profile myself rather than honing it out across the whole edge or creating a smile... although the smile could be a fun learning exercise for you.

So I used a 320, 400, 600 progression of wet sandpaper.

I did 140 strokes each side on the 320 (45 degree angle) and 400 (30 degree angle) grit sandpaper. Then 140 strokes each side on the 600 grit (20 degree angle). I took off quite a bit of material: it began at 17.1 mm it's now 16.7 mm.

20190315_001051.jpg

20190315_001104.jpg

20190315_003722.jpg

I'm glad this is a practice blade. Trial by error.