What's new

First brush completed

Wanted to share. I've been turning for a few months now and completed my first brush today. The wood is Matai I believe, dyed with Kiwi boot polish and finished in CA. It has a 28mm Synthetic knot.

Feedback would be great, thanks in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_20190304_162113.jpg
    IMG_20190304_162113.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 129
  • IMG_20190304_190453.jpg
    IMG_20190304_190453.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 132
Last edited:
Interesting choice of die, it looks good. Almost looks lightly burnt and reminds me of a wine barrel. I like it.

Graydog

Biblical Innards
Interesting choice of die, it looks good. Almost looks lightly burnt and reminds me of a wine barrel. I like it.

How long did you let the boot polish dry before go over it with the CA ?
Did you use it yet :) How does it feel in your hand when you make a Lather ?

Thanks for the feedback :)

How long did you let the boot polish dry before go over it with the CA ?
Did you use it yet :) How does it feel in your hand when you make a Lather ?

Not long at all, maybe 30 seconds, i'm a bit impatient with the finish. Actually, i need to go back and watch how to do a CA finish again. Still not quite getting uniform good results as you can see in the photo below with the duller areas on the handles.

I did use it this morning. It's quite large but feels good, my thumb sits very comfortably in the lower cove. The knot has a lot of backbone. Probably too much for me. Given the loft is quite long at 58mm i suspect its the knot.

Two from today, both the same finish and dye. The one on the left is Totara, which is very nice to turn with its dense grain, on the right is a mystery wood. Both synthetic knots.

Attachments

• IMG_20190305_161853.jpg
    IMG_20190305_161853.jpg
    4.7 MB · Views: 58
I always like seeing the shapes people choose for their handmade handles. It's cool that everyone can put their own touch and vision into a handmade handle.