What's new

Thinking of buying a smoker

I think I'm going to buy a smoker. I've been using my old Arkla gas grill (with a few modifications) that I got from my brother-in-law some time back in the late 80's, and it's not really adequate.

The one I've been looking at is the Smoke Hollow 38". Too big really, but it holds a side of ribs complete, don't have to cut them and although I'll probably never do more than two or three at a time, I could also smoke some bacon and canadian bacon at the same time.

Any suggestions? It's not a "forever" smoker, and I'd probably get some duct board and insulate it sooner or later, but for $200 it seems like a good deal. Propane, of course, and I will be using an Amaz-N smoke generator.

Peter

Sounds good to me, although I have no experience with propane smokers. My propane experience is limited to a regular grill, a batmobile type turkey deep frier burner, and a weed burner torch I used to finish sous vide steaks. I have tried to switch everything to natural gas so as not to have to worry about running out of propane.

I use a Masterbuilt dorm fridge smoker myself, which I am fairly happy with. I bought the slow smoker add-on fro additional smoke and cold smoking, which seems to work fine.

TexLaw

Fussy Evil Genius
Take my comments for what they are worth, as I've never used a propane smoker, but that does look like a decent cooker for the price.

As far as it being "too big," though . . . well . . . I'm willing to bet that you find it not big enough before too long. We always want to be able to cook more. :001_cool:

You should have a look at the reviews on Amazon. The problems cited seem to be in older reviews, so maybe any inherent design problems have been addressed.

I saw the Barrel House cooker/smoker at Wal-Mart, almost got one but decided to look around. The Pit Barrel cooker looked like it was better quality. I will probably go with
bhc-14d-vs-18c.jpg
Pit-Barrel-Cooker-vs-Barrel-House-Cooker-848x420.jpg