What's new

Where is the Blade?

Rosseforp

I think this fits, Gents
Hi, I am a Newbie to DE shaving and one thing I have noticed when looking at new and used DE razors, there is never a picture showing the razor with a blade loaded.

As a machinist by trade, fifty plus years in the medical and aerospace industry, I would think this would be very helpful when comparing razors. It is kinda like a blueprint that is missing dimensions needed to produce the product.
We could go on about companies bragging about their CNC's but I will leave that for another discussion.
Doug
I can't ask my dad for shaving advise so I came here

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
That can be true. But wait until you buy an antique razor and the seller sends you the razor with a rusty old blade loaded in the razor. No fun I can tell you. Have to be careful when you open the package.

That can be true. But wait until you buy an antique razor and the seller sends you the razor with a rusty old blade loaded in the razor. No fun I can tell you. Have to be careful when you open the package.

+1! This is also my experience.

Rosseforp

I think this fits, Gents
Perhaps to get a better idea of the gap?
Let me put it this way. Would you go to a car dealership and look at cars sitting on blocks with no tires?
You can't drive a car without tires. You can't shave without a blade. Both have many choices depending on YMMV.
I don't think a razor looks right without a blade!
Doug

Esox

I didnt know
Staff member
Welcome to the forum!

Hi, I am a Newbie to DE shaving and one thing I have noticed when looking at new and used DE razors, there is never a picture showing the razor with a blade loaded.

I find it frustrating when there is a blade loaded but the view angle is off and I cant see what I want to see. Gap, blade angle and blade exposure are all aspects I'm interested in and those are rarely highlighted in mainstream pictures.

Rosseforp

I think this fits, Gents