What's new

Review of Johnson&Johnson Flexible Fabric Band-Aids for Muhle R-41 Knicks

2019_Jan_13_7046_LR.JPG
2019_Jan_13_7054_LR.JPG
2019_Jan_13_7059_LR.JPG

I am giving the Muhle R-41 a first go today and picked up some Johnson&Johnson Flexible Fabric Band-Aids in an effort to exercise good Risk Management. I have limited DE shaving experience and have read tales of terror regarding this razor.

Over the past few weeks I have used the Rockwell 6S with #4/5 plates and the RazoRock Game Changer with no knicks. So I had a measure confidence as I washed my hair and applied a 90/10 mix of Noxzema and Glycerin for the preshave. I soaked a bit in the shower and let my mind wander… and it did wander. Back to her… always back to Erica.

I was at the beach house in a hot shower and I hear her sweet voice gently calling my name. She walks down the hall toward the shower and a touch of her perfume announces her arrival. Her gentle fingers grasp the shower curtain and… but I digress.

As the pre-shave does its work I turn my attention toward today’s weapon selection. A Maggard .20 synthetic knot I had placed on an old Rubberset handle. I accomplished that project when I had just gotten into DE Shaving. In some ways it seems like a million years ago and in some ways it seems like 3 weeks ago (probably more like 3 weeks ago because that’s actually when I re-knotted it).

T.O.B.S. Sandalwood shave cream would prep the battlefield and a fresh Derby blade would lead the charge. I lathered, whispered a prayer, and began the shave letting the razor do the work WTG.

Amazing! As I worked the sideburns and cheeks I could really feel this blade. Slow and steady… I liked the feel and it seemed to be getting the job done. I worked the throat area with good results… maybe some slight irritation in one area but no biggie. Next I prepared to engage within the danger zone.