What's new

Zits?

so badger & blade is correct, i am a wetshaver wannabe, im brand new to wet shaving and acquired my super adjustable for 50 cents not to long ago. did my first amazing shave which i loved, yet now, two days after my shave i am having more zits then normal. i would get one or two before with my 3-blade cartridge, but now i've got quite a bit more. is this because the blade i choose is not sharp enough (there dorco blades, cheap, so prolly pretty dull)? or too sharp? or am i just so excited to start wet shaving, that my hormones kicked in? any help/advice would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
I'm no expert, but I'd venture to say that the breakout may have more to do with the soap, cream or aftershave that you're using than your blade choice. I'm assuming this also changed from when you used a cartridge?

Try a different soap or cream. If you want to try a new blade I would recommend Astra SP very sharp and smooth blade and you can usually get a 100 pk for about $10.00 on Amazon if you like them. As for a soap Proraso in the white tub is good for sensitive skin.

If you're not already, you might want to add alum to your post-shave routine. Alum is a good anti-microbial and has been used to treat acne. And it feels good on your skin, too.

Unless it is the same shave cream that you used with a cartridge, it may be the shave soap/cream you are using with your DE setup.

Using the alum post shave will help, as will adding some witch hazel into your routine. Both are great for your skin and are dirt cheap

You might be getting zits because you touch yourself.

I couldn't resist saying that, but there might be something to it.
Faceturbating has been discussed here.. a compulsion to run your hands over your face in awe of the shave you've had. It's a possibility, though there are more likely culprits here. Again, sorry, I just had to bring it up. :)