What's new

Suggestions of good non aggressive razors or an adjustable

I've been shaving with a safety razor for about 8 months now and have really sensitive skin. I started out with a razorock classic long handle and found it very aggressive. I then switched over to a merkur 20c and find that it's not to bad. I can shave with it but have to really watch my bald selection. But since Christmas my go to razors have been vintage Gillette slim and fatboy for my every day shaves. I still gotta watch my blade selection but I find that if I have it set on 3 I'm usually good. So just looking for suggestions on razors that would be about as aggressive as my Gillettes on 3

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
I think a Super Speed or pre-war Tech should fit the bill nicely. Both are mild.

I never hesitate to suggest a slim, if I only had one razor it would be my slim. All the Gillette adjustables are great, it's just easier to find the slim in good condition at a decent price.

My fatboy is in great shape. My wife went out and found both of my vintage in an antique shop and she only paid $4.50 a piece for them and all they needed was a good clean. The black isn't in the numbers of the fatboy anymore but that's minor

I really like the slim and fatboy, but I love the Feather ASD2. If it is in the budget give it a try!

You already know you like mild razors, making this a less risky bet for you than others.

Doesn't have to be vintage although the vintage stuff is nice. Even if there was a modern adjustable will check into all the razors you guys suggest

I too generally shave with a Gillette slim on 3-5 depending on the blade and how many shaves it has on it. I also like the pre and post war techs. I just tried a RazoRock SLAB (shave like a boss) razor and found it more aggressive but manageable. One shave in isn't enough time to give a definitive answer though. It's head design is based on the ej de89 just with more blade gap.