What's new

Some advice needed for new wet shaver

I’m new to wet shaving and need some advice. I’ve read up a lot on the forum and did find some useful tips. So here are my questions.

1. What would be the best shaver to start off with regards to aggressiveness.
2. Is there any benefit in using a straight over a safety double edge razor? I’m currently using a double edge razor and I’m reluctant to try the straight as it looks to be a rather steep learning curve.
3. Should I get rid of my shaving foams and only use shaving soaps and if so what are the benefits of using shaving soap over foams? I bought a starter shaving kit online that included a razor, blades, soap, brush, aftershave and pre shave oil. In total everything was $20. I used the soap a few times but it does not seem to provide enough lubrication. The shaving foam seems to work better but it might also be that I bought an inferior product?
4. Do I really need the oil, it just seems to clog up the razor and I don’t really see any benefit of using it.

Thank you in advance.

Welcome to the board!!

These are just my opinion.

1. You could just start with mild shavers like a Razorock Mission and ramp it up from there. Or just get yourself a Rockwell 6s and try all of the settings and see what you like. Probably cheaper than trying a bunch of different razors in the long run too. You may never need another DE.

2. I used straights exclusivley for a long time and eventually tried a DE. I only have a single shavette now and get equally good shaves as I did with a straight. I can't be bothered to perform the maintenance on a straight. It is fun to learn though.

3. Use whatever you like and what works for you. I never liked the way gel or canned foam felt on my face so I tried soap and a brush and liked it way better. Some people say that the chemicals and propellants in canned foam can cause harm, but who knows.