What's new

Sandalwood recommendations for a well-read newbie

Hi B&B!

Intro and gear
Newbie checking in for some sage advice on where to indulge myself in this hobby next, specifically regarding soaps. I just recently started shaving with a DE and picked up the following gear which I am learning to love:
  • Rockwell 6s SS Razor
  • Sample pack of blades (Astra, Gillette Yellow, Feather, Wilkinson)
  • Mühle Synthetic Black Fibre Brush
  • TOBS Sandalwood cream
  • Proraso white, liquid cream aftershave balm
  • Alun block
  • Styptic pencil (which I first thought was an alun block, ouch!)
I am still learning after a couple of weeks in, but would love to try out some soaps to enhance what has become a very relaxing experience. I am loving the razor, still finding the right blades, but not that into the AS. I don't like it primarily because I really don't like breaking the sandalwood scent chain, which makes me sad. Performance wise it seems OK.

I am located in Sweden, for any shop recommendations :)

Wants
I have very dry skin in general, my skin can get noticeably flaky in the winter both in my shaving area and forehead. I also am a sucker for Sandalwood as a scent, as well as gear that looks and feels good. For me this ritual is as much about trying out well-performing gear as enjoying the look and feel of a nice brush handle or wooden soap dish.

Plan
I'm thinking of getting a couple of different soaps along with an aftershave balm and / or a face moisturizer. So I can keep my counter looking sharp, I would like to get at least one soap in a wooden dish similar to the DR Harris or Truefitt & Hill dishes, and preferably put the current soap I'm using in the dish. I actually like the wooden dishes with logos on them. Here are some of the products I've checked out:

Soaps
  • AoS Sandalwood NOS Tallow Soap (sadly really expensive to ship to Sweden, but this is probably my favorite from what I've read)