Reviving a Dehydrated Coates Tub... And me being a moron

Discussion in 'Shaving Creams' started by Scotto, May 12, 2006.

1. Scotto

Scotto Moderator Emeritus

Well, my order from Knox Cigar the other day yielded, among other things, a couple of tubs of Coates shaving cream. The Lime was in great shape, but alas, the Tea Tree was dehydrated to the point of being rock-hard. Since I had paid for a non-dehydrated tub, a quick call to the good folks at Knox produced a new tub. But now, what to do with the original? Why not try to re-hydrate it? For giggles on a Friday evening, I decided to take a few pics.

Here is the tub:
    [​IMG]

And open:
    [​IMG]
    It is hard to tell from the photo, but the level is about 60% full due to the moisture loss.

My, my, a bit hard, are we? :wink:
    [​IMG]

Clearly we are going to need water. But how much? Being a highly-educated scientist, I figure that if I add water to the tub to the level the fresh container is, that should be the perfect volume. Sounds smart, right?

Anyway, I pull out the dried cream and add it to a mixing bowl:
    [​IMG]

You can also see the water that I need, heated to boiling in the microwave. I add the water, and cover the bowl for a while to let things warm up:
    [​IMG]

OK, time to mix. After a minute or so, I am getting nowhere fast:
    [​IMG]
    This stuff hasn't softened at all. Into the microwave for a bit!

More whisking. Now we are getting somewhere! The bits have softened up and are starting to amalgamate:
    [​IMG]

A bit more elbow grease, and I am pretty proud of myself. I am sooo cool, right?....

Doh!
    [​IMG]

I guess I whipped too much....:blink: :cursing: :mad2:

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 8, 2017
  2. Careful Scotto, too much of that, and you're gonna have to start shaving your palms too! :tongue_sm

Seriously though, great pictorial! You'll have to let us know how the quality of the shave with the rehydrated stuff is.

-Nick

3. Scotto

Scotto Moderator Emeritus