What's new

Recommend Something In the 500-600-ish Dollar Range?

Gents, I am need of a new machine and even after a few years of pulling shots on a cheapola Lunghi machine I bought for the wife would consider myself rather an amateur at making espresso and her favourite, latte. The title says it best. I am going to be limited to that price range. It is not in the cards for more any time soon. I have a decent grinder and it will provide a good espresso grind but is certainly not professional quality. Where to start? I read a bit of the 'first esrpesso machine' sticky but wonder if there is a new thought or three about machines in this range. Thank you.

Hey maybe I can help out. Im not a professional by any means but I have a little experience with some machines. For that price range you're looking mainly at SBDU(single boiler dual use) machines. These machine have one boiler which is set at one temperature for brewing espresso, and the you can flip a switch so that they temperature increases and you can steam milk but you can only do one at a time. The two most recommended ones that I've seen are the Gaggia classic on the low end (around $380) and the Rancilio Silvia for the high end (around 685). Both of these machines use traditional boilers and heating elements. Another class of machine also seen at the entry level uses a thermoblock instead of a tradition boiler. This is what Breville uses in I believe everything but the Dual Boiler and the Oracle.