Recommend a Fountain Pen

Discussion in 'The Nib' started by TonyH, Jun 13, 2010.

1. I will be returning to school next month after a 15 year hiatus, and I'd like to get myself a nice(ish) fountain pen to celebrate and to take notes with.

Can anyone recommend a pen that comes in the $25-50 range? I have zero experience with this, and therefore no biases.

I am a lefty who can be slightly heavy-handed if not paying attention, and I'd like to improve my penmanship.

Also, I don't like a really scratchy pen, like the tiny roller balls.

Otherwise, you tell me....

2. I love my Lamy Safari with an EF nib. :thumbup1:

3. Gruder

Gruder Moderator Emeritus Contributor

First, congrats on returning to school!

You'll get plenty of Lamy recs, and nothing wrong with those, but a vintage Parker 21 or Esterbrook J would serve you quite well.

4. Austin

Austin Moderator Emeritus

Check out fountainpennetwork.com. There is a lot of information and recommendations. Their selling forum has some real gems at reasonable prices. Make sure you inquire pens for lefties. I believe there are pens for guys like you.

5. My dad's a lefty, and he really likes the Waterman Laureat I gave him. It was his first FP. It's a medium nib and is easily the smoothest pen I've ever used. I would recommend getting a modern pen for your first. You'll find the old Esterbrooks and 51s can be scratchy and don't respond well to a heavy hand. They're also, in general, a lot finer nibs (even though Esterbrook offers a huge variety of interchangeable nibs). I recommend starting with something a little more user friendly, then try some vintage pens later on.