What's new

RAD and To Replate or Not To Replate?

OK, I am a newbie and apparently have contracted our RAD faster than anyone in shaving history! Two shaves in and I am looking for a 1966 Slim and a 1966 Super Speed to be the "gems" of my collection. (If you can relate to this or beat it, feel free to leave a personal confession in order to make me feel better about myself.)
Anyway, I know this is probably a personal opinion kind of thing, but am I better off taking the time and effort to find these in a really nice original condition, or is replating more readily available ones the way to go? All opinions welcome.

Unless the razor has sentimental value or is a high valued collectable, a replate isn't a good return on investment. Often one can get a common razor in excellent condition for less than the replate cost.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Unless the razor has sentimental value or is a high valued collectable, a replate isn't a good return on investment. Often one can get a common razor in excellent condition for less than the replate cost.

I agree on both points, especially for a Slim or SS. Having said that, I know some gentleman will choose to replate because they want their razors to have that "like new" mirror finish and they plan to keep and use them for their lifetime. For some it is not a financial decision.

I have had one razor replated ('61 Fatboy)at RazorPlate, but only because I learned a hard lesson from an eBay purchase and the replate was a birthday gift from my children. I would not have done that for a Slim or a SS, but that is just me being cheap...or frugal.