What's new

Noob here, looking for present

Hey guys/girls my gf is getting heavy into the crafting scene. I would like her to have a nice pen to use with everything that she is doing. I'm also going to be looking for her a leather journal but I'm not sure which one to buy first. I would like the journal to be customized for her. Birthday is in May and the other gift will be for vday.

The pen will need to be under $200. I have read reviews online and it seems like the Lamy 2000 is the way to go but I don't really like the look of it compared to some of the other beautiful fountain pens out there. Also I was curious if I should go fine or medium for her first fountain pen.

I'm willing to take advice so if you all think I should go cheaper and steel just let me know, I was just thinking a golden nib would be a beautiful first for her. Thanks for all your help and looking forward to all the replies.

For a gold nibbed pen in your budget, the Pilot Custom 74 is a good choice. You could also go with a Sailor Pro Gear Slim. Either would be an excellent alternative to the Lamy 2000. The Pilot is a larger pen. The Sailor is smaller. As to nib width, that depends a lot on her handwriting. I suppose I might suggest a medium nib in either of those pens unless she has fairly small handwriting.

I'm not sure where to point you for a customized leather journal.

For the leather journal I thinkba midori travelers notebook would make a nice gift for her she will be able to customize it almost endlessly

A pen that is beautiful and in your budget plus it is a terrific writer as well is the Platinum 3776 Century. I have the Bourgogne version which is a beautiful burgundy color. It has a wonderful 14k gold nib. Like with any Japanese pen the nib sizes run up to about a full size narrower than marked. (Japanese B= Western M) Cost at a dealer in the US such as Goulet Pens will be about $175. I got mine from a Japanese vendor on Amazon. Saved me nearly $100.