What's new

New to this

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this and have a couple of vintage razors that I would like to restore. So I am looking for info on how to go about doing just that. I have 1 that I really want to clean up but it has etching on the blade and do not want to ruin it at all. I would like to have it look nicer than what it is but do not want to sand the etching off of it. Also want to learn how to hone the blades and what I need to get started on that. I will add pics.
$20170130_095214.jpg$20170130_095328.jpg$20170130_095344.jpg$20170130_095423.jpg$20170130_095441.jpg

Last edited:
My advice would be to track down one or two of the cheap chinese razors. "Gold Dollar" and similar. Use _those_ to practice one, and don't touch your nice one until you can get a shaving edge on the junk razors. (They're usually pretty good steel. Just REALLY crappy finished, usually needing a dremel tool to make function correctly)

My advice would be to track down one or two of the cheap chinese razors. "Gold Dollar" and similar. Use _those_ to practice one, and don't touch your nice one until you can get a shaving edge on the junk razors. (They're usually pretty good steel. Just REALLY crappy finished, usually needing a dremel tool to make function correctly)
Thanks just might do that

Thanks just might do that

You're welcome. I haven't been able to put enough time into it to do it right myself - and I'm one hone short. (no 8000 grit)

But, when I'm needing something absolutely no-brained to do, I grab one, one of the stones, and practice the honing process - just making sure you keep the back of the blade down is challenging (even with electrical tape on it)