What's new

Just set myself up a sampler pack.

Well, while I'm still relatively new to the wet shaving game (considering there are guys here who've been shaving like this for 50 years) I've started my quest for the perfect blade, or at least the blade that makes me happy. Its a good thing that I found B&B or I wouldn't have even thought to look for a place that sells single blades online. Much thanks @OtterLunacy .

At any rate I set myself up a sampler with two (2) blades of the following companies and types.

Astra Superior Platinum
Persona Lab Blue
Persona Platinum (I.E. Israeli Reds)
Voskhod (I've been hearing some hype about them on Youtube so I figured why not)
PolSilver Super Iridium
Derby Extra
Ladas Super Stainless
Treet Carbon Steel (I believe these ones are commonly called Treet Blacks)
Gillette Silver Blue (apparently these can be hard to find at times)
Gillette 7 o'Clock Sharp Edge (the yellow ones)
Gillette Rubie Platinum Plus

Are there any blades that are particularly popular that I've missed, that I should put on my "To Try List"?

Definately add Feathers and Gillette blacks.

I think I'll hold off on the feathers for just now. The hype surrounding them makes them sound scary.

I'll definitely put the Gillette Blacks on the list. That company still has a decent reputation, though how much of that is coasting on past glories I have no idea. Wet shaving wasn't really a thing for me growing up and by the time I started shaving in the mid-90s the latest rage was carts with 9 blades and 15 "lubricating" strips. Thankfully my beard is light to average and grows slowly so I can manage with disposables even if they feel like scraping your face with a rusty butter knife.

Well done. Enjoy. Try to not get tied up in knots over blades. Most differences among them are teeny-tiny.