What's new

Is a Monteverde better than a Pilot?

I’m quite new to the fountain pen experience but I am starting to see why so many are into it.

I own a Pilot Metropolitan with a medium nib and a 1MM stub nib. I took the medium to work but I didn’t find it useful on the cheap paper and the hurry I am usually in to scribble notes while a half a dozen people yell suggestions at me. So I picked up another Pilot Metro but with a fine gel rollerball and that works great for work purposes.

I have been looking at other pens for a future purchase and the one I like the most right now is the Monteverde Invincia Deluxe in black and rose gold. It looks nice to me and has a #6 nib that I can replace with many nibs available from Goulet Pens. But at $100 is it really that much better than getting a couple more Metros at $15 each?
It looks very nice but I don’t have anyone to impress so I was thinking I could buy a few of the metros with different nibs and use different inks and just swap them out anytime having each one loaded with a different color.

Would the writing experience be that much better with a Monteverde or another pen of presumably higher quality?

I’m quite new to the fountain pen experience but I am starting to see why so many are into it.

I own a Pilot Metropolitan with a medium nib and a 1MM stub nib. I took the medium to work but I didn’t find it useful on the cheap paper and the hurry I am usually in to scribble notes while a half a dozen people yell suggestions at me. So I picked up another Pilot Metro but with a fine gel rollerball and that works great for work purposes.

I have been looking at other pens for a future purchase and the one I like the most right now is the Monteverde Invincia Deluxe in black and rose gold. It looks nice to me and has a #6 nib that I can replace with many nibs available from Goulet Pens. But at $100 is it really that much better than getting a couple more Metros at $15 each?