What's new

Grinds for a noob?

I'm awaiting a whipped dog with a full hollow grind as my first straight. Assuming all goes well I'll look to get either a nice new custom or nicely restored vintage. I understand the difference between the shapes of the different grinds but not the real purpose of each. I have a thick Armenian beard. I've been using a DE for a few years and find sharp blades like feathers and Astra SP's to work best. Is a wedge better for someone with a light beard? Full hollow for course? Just personal preference for what kind of weight you want?

The key is to use a shave ready razor.It will take you a while to find what style razor you like to use.A full hollow grind will give you a lot of feedback.Just remember to have a light touch and watch your blade angle.It will probably take several weeks or longer to start to become proficient with a straight.Just take it slow and finish up with a DE until you feel comfortable with the straight.

i started with a full hollow grind, for routine shaving worked well. if i had a goatee to shave off, it was a bit overwhelmed. I later procured a 3/4 grind and that had no issues going through a grown goatee. i found learning to SR shave was easier with the full hollow (feedback wise) and the extra weight of the 3/4 just made the shave easier. I would not say one better than the other, just different.
I read somewhere the best example of weight in a razor is horsepower in an engine, heavier blade, more horsepower behind it. Not sure how true it is, but many here will say its the user that makes the blade work best, bot the blade that makes the user good....only caveat is must be shave ready (super important!)

good luck!!

So after getting used to this, it'd make sense to try a half or quarter hollow to compare.
For my regular shaver I use a merkur with a big heavy head so I'm used to using no pressure. A heavier blade may be a more natural fit, then. Either way, I can't possibly know until I try them.