What's new

GoPro hints, tips, tricks?

Ad Astra

The Instigator
Santa Claus brought me a GoPro Session 4! :thumbup: Ho, ho, ho!

Can any experienced users of the GoPro series share best-practice advice for a new video shooter?

1. I actually carry a DSLR for a living, so it's GoPro-specific info I seek. Video is new to me; noticing my videos are shaky, boring and move too quick. Must be a crash course in video somewhere out there.

2. Technical details of the camera aren't a problem; got the WiFi link to an Android ipad working well ... can't get it to link to an Apple ipad, though. Yet.

Amazing quality video this thing shoots, and that's just on 1080 / 30 fps.

Enjoying still frames at 3/1 sec bursts. My theory is, people blink- shoot three!

Links and info solicited.

Many thanks.

AA:thumbup1:

Some kind of stabilizer is needed, camera is so small & light handheld shots are tough. I built a PVC ring, about 16" diameter. Put a 1/4-20 bolt up through the bottom to mount the camera, half filled the PVC with lead shot. Hold it like a steering wheel, loosely, and let inertia and momentum work their magic. Shakes are eliminated, some practice and wobbles are minimized.

Somewhat like this http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-a-PVC-Fig-Rig/

Ad Astra

The Instigator
Interesting! Thanks.

Did come with the "floaty" hand-held mount- and a few others.

Steady, good video from the dashboard-mount ...

Was surprised to find when I opened the photos in PhotoShop, the dang thing records time and date in "File Info," which is interesting, as I never set any such ... must have got it from the "Camera" software on the Android ...I think!

45" wide at 72 dpi is amazing file size! or 16" at 200 dpi. Focus from a few inches to infinity is quite a trick. Electronics inside must be impressive.

AA