What's new

Art of Shaving TI vs other TI razors

So I've been using a Gold Dollar straight razor for a few months now and have gotten the hang of it. I'd like to invest in a nice quality straight razor soon. I've had my eye on this Their Issard by Art of Shaving. I saw it in the local store and thought it was absolutely gorgeous looking. My question is, is it worth that price tag? Is this a $300 tier TI razor or am I paying a huge markup because it's AoS and should get a straight from TI direct instead? The other ones I'm looking at are this Eagle Brand, La Legende 1886, Triangle Bocote, Spartacus Festonne, Le Chasseur 3 Bears (this one is #2 on my list; love the scales on this), or Aigle Festonne. Are any of these better than the other? I'm pretty set on a TI over a Dovo or other Solingen blade; not for any particular reason.

Also, my Gold Dollar is to the point of needing honing and I found a guy locally (Bob Keyes) through B&B that does honing. Should I get my GD honed back up while I decide on my quality straight or should I get the TI and not bother honing the Gold Dollar?

Thanks for all the help and advice in advance.

In my opinion, you're paying a premium for the AoS name on it. If it was me, I'd go with a "TI direct." But if you love the look of AoS one (some do), have at it. one thing to keep in mind is it will most likely require honing. A "TI direct" option may be sold by a shop that hones them before selling. As for honing, if it's needed on the new TI, I'm happy to do it for free (just cover shipping). Just PM me if/when you're interested.

Good luck!

I love that razor and have almost picked it up a bunch of times. I think those scales will look fantastic years from now. But I am not willing to pay that much for a 5/8 TI, even if it does have a really really nice thumb notch. Damn, now you have me looking, again . . . .