Acquisitions for August 2011

Discussion in 'The Score' started by fidjit, Aug 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nobody found anything yet ??

Went into a little shop I know of that opens a couple of days a week for a couple of hours. Just happened to be driving past and noted it was open.

Found this cool travel kit :lol:

[​IMG]

Inside a #58 and a very worn wooden brush

[​IMG]

Cleaned up nicely :smile:

[​IMG]

( The actual travel bag and brush have been disposed of :lol: )

Last edited: Aug 3, 2011
  2. That's a superspeed, isn't it?(sorry, I'm a noob)

BTW: good call to dispose of the brush, it looks horrendous. I really wonder why some people think anyone would buy such worn out pieces of :censored:. But than again, if you see people who offer this crap, you know you can get a good deal, because they don't know the first thing about shaving.:w00t:

3. It's a British Gillette #58. A variation on the Rocket HD with fancier knurling on it. Came in a distinctive red case:

[​IMG]

Don't worry about being a newb, we all started there at one time, you'll quickly become obsessed and be able to tell a razor from the notch on the bar, the shape of the endcaps,........:lol:

Being from Belgium , you're probably more likely to find British Rockets etc than you are to find US made Superspeeds. Brit razors are very nice especially the rhodium coated Aristocrat ( #15,#16, #22,#66 etc ) series.

Yeah, I'm all into restoring old brushes, but not something like that.........:smile:

Last edited: Aug 2, 2011
  4. My coticule and slurry stone arrived this morning.

[​IMG]

5. How does one restore brushes? Put in a new knot and clean up the handle or is there more to it?

6. Also, if you're this good at identifying razors, would you please have a look at this post for me? http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/243837-Need-some-help-identifying-this-one!

7. Nice!