What's new

New to Digital SLR photography, help!

Hey Everyone,

I am just getting into photography and have been using a hand me down Canon Rebel GII from my father. So far I have taken some promising photos that people have surprisingly really liked, thus fueling my passion for my new hobby.

So only after a short while buying film and getting it developed is getting really old (and expensive). I love working with my images in Photoshop to polish them up and transferring them is getting annoying so I'm thinking of jumping straight into the SLR realm.

I don't know much about this stuff yet so I figured I'd turn to you guys for some advice on a good starter camera that will take professional quality photos w/out breaking the bank i.e. the HD Classic of the SLR world... :)

Hell, maybe somebody is looking to part with one?!

I got such great advice when I started DE shaving on here so I thought I'd come back to you guys for another hobby. Any advice is welcome and appreciated.

Best Regards,

T.S.

Here's the good news -- this is an excellent time to buy a DSLR. For the most part, the resolution wars have died down and manufacturers have been adding features like better ISO sensitivity, image stabilization, etc. over the past couple of years.

Understand that when you buy a camera, you're really buying into a system i.e. buying lenses, flashes, etc. that will only work with that manufacturer. You don't want to find out you really don't like your camera after you've bought lenses and flashes for it. Sure, you can sell it all and start over, but you lose money and it's a pain.

I'd recommend you start looking at the Nikon D40 or the current Canon Rebel DSLR. You should handle both of these and see what you like. Do they feel right in your hand? How the viewfinder? Remember, you'll be looking though that thing a lot. If it looks like a tunnel now, it'll look like a pinhole after you've used it for an event like a party, wedding, etc.